Beth started the Jack Stone Award for New Music at Northwest Vista College in 2010 with funding from a Yale AlumniVentures grant and support from then-president Jacqueline Claunch. Each year, community college student composers from around the United States submit pieces for varied instrumentations, and these pieces are judged by members of the Composers Alliance of San Antonio. A winner and two runners-up are selected, and they are then flown to San Antonio, where they get to meet and form lifelong friendships in addition to hearing their works premiered by top-notch professional musicians. They receive a recording of their works, and the concert is preceded by a master class involving the musicians and at least one of the judges, allowing the students valuable opportunities to learn and grow as composers.

The 2020 Jack Stone Award for new music will be a collaboration with Tetractys. Past performers have included line upon line percussion, Molly Emerman, Steve Parker, the Bel Cuore Quartet, Sarah Silver, Graeme Francis, Morgen Johnson, Caroline Shaw, Lorna Kreier, Eleonore Oppenheim, Neal Fitzpatrick, Carly Fleming, Danielle Solerno, and the Olmos Ensemble.

Past winners and runners-up have included:

Mihye Kim * Edo Ryan * Corbin Hines * Kenji Oh * Connor Helms * Kenneth Subrin * Laura Day * Nathaniel Moore * Thomas Mullins * Sano Sanchez * Nicolas Vaquera * Clifford Allen * Jeremiah Sweeney * Noelle Pinsonnault * Chris Dahlman * Peter Fitzgerald * Eunho Kim * Chance Slater * Sam Rainey * John Carroll * Rebekah Novinger * Josef Daniel Kilhoffer * Melissa Wang * Connor Wier * Mikael Baisch

To listen to past years’ winning pieces, visit the Jack Stone Award’s soundcloud page.